Reckless Driving Attorney NJ


For over 30 years the O'Donnell Law Firm has been defending drivers charged in New Jersey with reckless driving. New Jersey law defines reckless driving as follows:  

"A person who drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property, shall be guilty of reckless driving…”

N.J.S.A. 39:4-96. 

Not to be confused with careless driving which is premised on neglicence, a charge of reckless driving presumes that the motor vehicle operator intends to disregard to the safety of others. The penalties for reckless driving in New Jersey include imprisonment of up to 60-days and a fine of up to $200 for a first offense, and imprisonment of up to 3-months and a fine of up to $500 for subsequent offenses.

Very often police use reckless driving as probable cause to pull over drivers suspected of DWI.  In addiiton to disorderly conduct and resisting arrest, reckless driving is one of the most common tickets issued by troopers in New Jersey, along with DWI.

FREE CONSULTATION

If you have been arrested on suspicion of reckless driving and DWI, contact the O'Donnell Law Firm today.  Serving Sussex County, Morris County, Passaic County, Essex County, Bergen County, and other counties throughout New Jersey. 

© O'Donnell Law Firm LLC 2022 - powered by EggZack